Slaghmuylder brewery was founded in 1860 by Emmanuel Slaghmuylder. At the century rotation, Emmanuel's son Ernest took over the healthy company and married Marie Van Roy, daughter of a brewer family of Wieze. Around the same time, he bought the abbey ground at Ninove, Denderhoutembann. His three sons started to build a new brewery there in 1925. The buildings at Sint-Jorisstraat were too small, and in 1926, the new brewery could begin immediately with the unique brewing process for lager beer. The SLAG PILS was born.
During the war of 1940-1945 brewing restarted for fermentation at a higher temperature. For this process, less energy is needed for cooling down. It was only in 1958 that the brewery started with the production of SLAG PILS, HELLES and TAFELHELL.
In the mid-1960s the three brothers were succeeded by their sons. From 1979 onwards, the three nephews started brewing WITKAP PATER on the request of "De Drie Linden" brewery in Brasschaat. In 1981, WITKAP PATER was officially taken over by Slaghmuydler and further adjusted to current tastes.